Transitioning to the Osprey from the CH-46

This is a bitter sweet story for me. I rode a ton in 46s when I was in…

If you have any good CH-46 stories, please share them below!

Speaking for myself, we flew in CH-53s when we were dodging ground fire on our entry into Albania, but most of my flights in the Corps were on 46s. One of them certainly saved my life when we were landing on ship and wind (or pilot error) pushed us off course a bit.

One set of back wheels hit the deck of the LHA and the 46 titled on its side, mere milliseconds from flipping and probably killing us all. Somehow, the pilot recovered, and thankfully the 46 (with its dual blades) had the power to recover from such a dangerous mistake.

I know the Osprey has its advantages in speed and range, but I don’t think in a million years it would have survived a similar mishap.

Again, make sure you share any good stories you have. Love hearing from my fellow brothers and sisters.

Keep the faith,

Stan R. Mitchell

Oak Ridge, Tenn.

About me: I’m a full-time, action-fiction author with books similar to Vince Flynn, Stephen Hunter, and Tom Clancy. I’m also a prior infantry Marine with Combat Action Ribbon, and a guy who spent 10+ years writing every day in the newspaper business. Please consider subscribing for email alerts — I mostly post about things American foreign policy, national security, and all things Marine Corps.

P.S. You should really consider buying this book: The Shaolin Workout: 28 Days to Transforming Your Body and Soul the Warrior’s Way. It’s absolutely changed my life for the better.

4 thoughts on “Transitioning to the Osprey from the CH-46

  1. Like the time we got in a 46 on Sardinia to head back to the Nassau, got about 10 or 20 feet up in the air and went back down, hard? Something broke. Or the time we had a 46 put my FAC team down on a ridgeline in Stumps, the front landing gear and the ramp were on the deck, the rear two were suspended in air. Or the time I heard Alpha Company Skipper Captain Haskell tell the First Sergeant that the helos had been cancelled, looked like we’d be riding in “CH-46-By’s”? Had the then CO of the new Osprey squadron at MCAS New River talk at my Legion Post’s Memorial Day service a few years back. We chewed the fat for a bit after the ceremony, seems we’d been to some of the same places, Corps is a small place. Hell of a nice guy. For an Air-Winger. SF.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I never flew in a Ch-46. That came in after I was out. But I knew Medal of Honor recipient Raymond Mike Clausen Jr. who was a crew chief on a 46.

    I made a video about Mike, its not the best video I’ve ever made, but it is what it is. https://youtu.be/cB5LOxI_r6k

    Also the crew on that 46 became the most decorated crew in Marine Corps history.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow, Bruce. I’m seriously at a loss for words. When I hear stories like that, I don’t even feel worthy to post about the Marine Corps. Nothing I did comes a million miles toward the life of a warrior like that. Thank you for honoring him with that video.

      I’m so honored to have crossed paths with a warrior like you, who spends so much time doing so many good things.

      Semper Fi, my brother. I may try to write more later, but after watching that video, I’m pretty much at a loss for words, like I said above.

      Like

Comments are always welcome!

