My hesitation in sharing a pretty startling conclusion I’ve been developing

Hey guys,

I apologize for the lack of posts of late. For quite a while now, I’ve been researching and chewing on some information I’ve uncovered regarding Iraq and the larger overall Sunni/Shia conflict that’s increasingly coming to light.

I’ve been digging going all the way back to Gen. Norman Schwarzkopf’s invasion in the early 90s, reading his entire biography and picking up a treasure chest of clues written with no political viewpoint in mind. I can say this with absolute conviction because his book was written prior to our 2000-era invasion and toppling of Saddam.

Furthermore, Schwarzkopf says in his biography that he’s a Republican. I don’t think he’d be wanting to sabotage his own party.

So, I’m beating around the bush here but I don’t want my hesitation to suggest that I haven’t drawn up a conclusion. In fact, I’ve drawn up a serious conclusion. One I feel extremely firm on. But, it can’t be said without coming across as political.

And I’ve learned that once you become political, it’s a deadly thing. Furthermore, I’m a moderate and never want to become a passionate supporter of just one side. I will always support trying to mend fences and create dialogue among people of opposite persuasions. Doing so is how progress is made, and is best for our country, in my opinion.

Additionally, it seems quite clear to me that when you make a political statement, you immediately lose about half your readers. They get defensive. Or pissed. And perhaps rightly so.

So, for now I’m holding off on laying out this great conclusion that I’ve drawn. I’m going to continue to look for someone else who has come across the same thing and hopefully written about it. Once I find that person, I’ll share it here.

But if I don’t find this information somewhere soon, then I think I’m going to lay out my evidence and conclusions. And I will do so as respectfully and from as non-political a viewpoint as possible.

We can only avoid repeating history if we learn from it, and I’m not sure we’ve learned enough from our history the past ten-plus years, since it doesn’t seem anyone is saying what I believe to be a pretty clear truth.

Keep the faith,

Stan R. Mitchell

Oak Ridge, Tenn.

About me: I’m a full-time, action-fiction author with books similar to Vince Flynn, Stephen Hunter, and Tom Clancy. I’m also a prior infantry Marine with Combat Action Ribbon, and a guy who spent 10+ years writing every day in the newspaper business. Please consider subscribing for email alerts — I mostly post about things American foreign policy, national security, and all things Marine Corps.

P.S. You should really consider buying this book: The Shaolin Workout: 28 Days to Transforming Your Body and Soul the Warrior’s Way. It’s absolutely changed my life for the better.

2 thoughts on “My hesitation in sharing a pretty startling conclusion I’ve been developing

  1. Hello, Stan,
    Regardless of what viewpoint you come up with, somebody will consider it wrong, and they will have very good (to them) reasons for saying it’s wrong, and many of them will not hesitate to tell you why you are wrong and furthermore, you’re an idiot for not thinking the way they do.
    It is said that a reliable, objective history of a person or event cannot be written until all the principals involved are either dead or just about dead, so we will probably have to wait another 30-40 years before anything really balanced about the War on Terror (or whatever they’re calling it then) is published.
    And since history is written by the winners, let’s just hope it’s published in English, not Arabic or Farsi.

    Like

Comments are always welcome!

