U.S. Military news round up from around the world, 2/23/15

In Ukraine…

More evidence of Russia sending troops directly to Ukraine has emerged. This news should surprise no one. And in other news, Ukraine is saying it can’t pull back its heavy weapons because of continued “rebel” attacks.

If I were in charge of Ukraine, I’d be digging in, recruiting more soldiers, and preparing my country for all-out war. And lets hope Europe steps up and starts getting more serious about their own defense and NATO commitments.

Back to the F-35…

A couple of weeks ago, I shared a post of the U.S. Navy not being that sold on the F-35.  I went on to say that I continued to have concerns because when an Admiral is speaking up about a super-controversial weapons program, there just may be more news here than any of want to think about…

On the front of me possibly being wrong, which I sincerely hope I am since this is the Pentagon’s most expensive weapons program EVER, Israel appears to be in love with the plane. They just ordered 14 more of them, on top of the 19 that they already have.

In Iraq…

There’s been lots of talk about taking Mosul back from ISIS/Daesh by the administration, and that led to torrents of criticism about announcing the plans ahead of time.

Turns out, most of this talk doesn’t matter anyway, since now the Iraqi’s admit that basically their forces suck and they can’t take Mosul when the administration hoped, anyway. Well, they didn’t quite say it so clearly, but I’ll save you some reading and you can trust me on what they said.

I would take the time to compile a ton of links of all the times that Iraqi’s with better weapons and tanks (provided by the U.S.) have run from ISIS like complete cowards, but I’m betting most of you already know this truth. (Seriously, how do you ever give up if you even have one, single M1A1 tank? I mean, seriously, guys. Come on…)

So, instead of researching a bunch of links, let me just show you a little training.

I’m thinking it’s time we send this guy back over there to chew some ass…

Keep the faith,

Stan R. Mitchell

Oak Ridge, Tenn.

About me: I’m a full-time, action-fiction author with books similar to Vince Flynn, Stephen Hunter, and Tom Clancy. I’m also a prior infantry Marine with Combat Action Ribbon, and a guy who spent 10+ years writing every day in the newspaper business. Please consider subscribing for email alerts — I mostly post about things American foreign policy, national security, and all things Marine Corps.

2 thoughts on “U.S. Military news round up from around the world, 2/23/15

  1. I have to say I never really understood why we didn’t park a couple drones on the border of Ukraine and either hellfire the heavy Russian stuff coming over or better yet just give the intel to the Ukrainians and let their planes take’em out or even better yet destroy the roads to make it even harder. Then again why do we have to solve everyone’s issues.

    Just like that bottom clip of the Iraqi police, why help those who can’t seem to help themselves.

    The middle east is letting the jayvee team (LOL) run roughshod over there and then blame us for not stopping them. One thing does stand out over there is that there does not seem to be much country unity, pride or loyalty. It’s a bunch of factions that cannot come together. Take away the oil and you have a bunch of countries stuck in the stone age. Maybe it’s leadership who knows.

    Liked by 2 people

    • “I have to say I never really understood why we didn’t park a couple drones on the border of Ukraine and either hellfire the heavy Russian stuff coming over or better yet just give the intel to the Ukrainians and let their planes take’em out or even better yet destroy the roads to make it even harder.”

      I can think of three good reasons, I think. First, fear of escalation. (And lack of proof initially how heavily involved Russia was.) Second, Ukraine’s not part of NATO. Finally, we DID play a role in running off an elected president of a democratic country. Even we have our limits! lol

      “One thing does stand out over there is that there does not seem to be much country unity, pride or loyalty.”

      Very keen observation.

      Two things I’ve read lately that have helped open my eyes. First, Iraq was far more broken than we anticipated when we invaded (before we even broke more stuff and sent the army home…) Sec of Defense Robert Gates talks about this in his book.

      Second, Iraq is a perfect fault line. Literally, the worst place in the Middle East. It lays smack dab in the middle of the fault line between the Shia, Sunni, and Kurds. So when there’s no outside threat, such as Iran, or a brutal dictator in charge that leads through fear, then the place just becomes a gigantic boiling point of tribes/relgions completely butchering each other.

      Gen. Wesley Clark said it best the other day when he said Iraq’s best chance is a strong national Army.

      Like

Comments are always welcome!

